Company holidays from 16.06 to 23.06 / Orders will be shipped again from 24.06.

FODMAP

What are FODMAPs?
Put simply, FODMAPs are short-chain carbohydrates (sugars) that are not properly absorbed in the gut. When FODMAPs reach the small intestine, they move slowly and attract water. When they enter the the large intestine, FODMAPs are fermented by gut bacteria, causing gas to form. The extra gas and water cause the intestinal wall to stretch and expand. Because people with irritable bowel syndrome have highly sensitive bowels, the stretching of the bowel wall causes excessive pain and discomfort. FODMAPs occur naturally in many foods and food additives.
d
What happens when you consume FODMAPs?
FODMAPs are found in a wide variety of foods, and most people eat foods high in FODMAP on a daily basis without experiencing any problems. When FODMAPs are eaten, the gut bacteria use the FODMAPs as a source of fuel in order to survive. The bacteria rapidly ferment the FODMAPs, producing gas in the process. 

These processes occur in all people (with and without irritable stomach / irritable bowel). The difference is that people with irritable bowel syndrome may have problems with motility (the speed at which the contents move through the bowel) and / or a highly sensitive bowel wall. The extra water and gas in the intestines causes the intestinal wall to expand, causing the usual symptoms such as pain, bloated stomach, bloating, nausea, gas, and digestive problems (diarrhea, constipation, or both).

What are FODMAPs in? 
As mentioned earlier, FODMAPs are found in a wide variety of foods, such as garlic, onions, fruits, vegetables, bread, cereals, nuts, legumes, and confectionery. It is impossible to guess the FODMAP content of a product. Instead, a careful laboratory analysis is required to understand the FODMAP content of foods. The Monash University team is an expert in such analysis. The information about the FODMAP content of foods is published through their app, the Monash University FODMAP Diet App. The app uses a simple traffic light rating system to indicate whether a food is low, medium or high FODMAP and in what amount it is safe to eat.

Who Should Be On the FODMAP Diet? 
An FODMAP diet is intended for those with medically diagnosed irritable bowel syndrome. If a doctor hasn't diagnosed your gastrointestinal symptoms, you shouldn't follow this diet. There are many medical conditions with symptoms similar to irritable bowel syndrome, such as: B. Celiac disease, inflammatory bowel disease, endometriosis, and colon cancer. You shouldn't diagnose yourself with irritable bowel syndrome. Instead, see a doctor who will assess your symptoms, perform any tests necessary to rule out other conditions, and give you a clear diagnosis of irritable bowel syndrome before starting this diet.

Benefits of a Low FODMAP Diet

Monash University researchers developed the concept of FODMAPs and demonstrated the effectiveness of a low-FODMAP diet. Monash research shows that three out of four people who have a low-FODMAP diet greatly improve symptoms. Other research groups from around the world have since shown similar results. For this reason, a low-FODMAP diet is now considered the preferred treatment for people diagnosed with irritable bowel syndrome.

A low-FODMAP diet has been shown to:

  • Reduce pain, cramps and discomfort
  • Reduce bloating and gas
  • improve digestion (less diarrhea or constipation)
  • improve the quality of life

These benefits usually show up within 2-6 weeks of starting the low FODMAP diet.

Of course, the diet does not cure irritable bowel syndrome, it only helps those affected to live better with their condition.

A low FODMAP diet will not improve symptoms for EVERYONE either. In fact, one in four people find that dieting does not improve their symptoms. These people may need other nutritional therapies in addition to or as a substitute for a low FODMAP diet. Other therapies you can consider include stress reduction, bowel-oriented hypnotherapy, over-the-counter / prescription drugs (e.g. laxatives), or fiber supplements. Talk to your doctor about what other therapies you can try.

 

Source:
Content was taken from Monash University (https://www.monashfodmap.com/about-fodmap-and-ibs/)

FODMAP

Que sont les FODMAP?
En termes simples, les FODMAP sont des glucides à chaîne courte (sucres) qui ne sont pas correctement absorbés dans l'intestin. Lorsque les FODMAP atteignent l'intestin grêle, ils se déplacent lentement et attirent l'eau. Lorsqu'ils pénètrent dans le côlon, les FODMAP sont fermentés par des bactéries intestinales, provoquant la formation de gaz. Le gaz et l'eau supplémentaires provoquent l'étirement et l'expansion de la paroi intestinale. Parce que les personnes atteintes du syndrome du côlon irritable ont des intestins très sensibles, l'étirement de la paroi intestinale provoque une douleur et un inconfort excessifs. Les FODMAP sont naturellement présents dans de nombreux aliments et additifs alimentaires.
Que se passe-t-il lorsque vous consommez des FODMAP?
Les FODMAP se trouvent dans une grande variété d'aliments et la plupart des gens consomment quotidiennement des aliments riches en FODMAP sans rencontrer de problèmes. Lorsque les FODMAP sont consommés, les bactéries intestinales utilisent les FODMAP comme source de carburant pour survivre. Les bactéries fermentent rapidement les FODMAP, produisant ainsi du gaz. 

Ces processus se produisent chez toutes les personnes (avec et sans estomac irritable / intestin irritable). La différence est que les personnes atteintes du syndrome du côlon irritable peuvent avoir des problèmes de motilité (la vitesse à laquelle le contenu de l'intestin se déplace dans l'intestin) et / ou une paroi intestinale très sensible. L'eau et le gaz supplémentaires dans les intestins provoquent l'expansion de la paroi intestinale, provoquant les symptômes habituels tels que douleur, ballonnement d'estomac, ballonnements, nausées, gaz et problèmes digestifs (diarrhée, constipation ou les deux).

En quoi consistent les FODMAP? 
Comme mentionné précédemment, les FODMAP se trouvent dans une grande variété d'aliments, tels que l'ail, les oignons, les fruits, les légumes, le pain, les céréales, les noix, les légumineuses et la confiserie. Il est impossible de deviner le contenu FODMAP d'un aliment. Au lieu de cela, une analyse minutieuse en laboratoire est nécessaire pour comprendre la teneur en FODMAP des aliments. L'équipe de l'Université Monash est experte dans ces mesures. Les informations sur la teneur en FODMAP des aliments sont publiées via leur application, l'application FODMAP Diet de l'Université Monash. L'application utilise un système d'évaluation des feux de signalisation simple pour indiquer si un aliment est faible, moyen ou élevé en FODMAP et en quelles quantités il peut être consommé sans danger.

Qui devrait suivre le régime FODMAP? 
Un régime FODMAP est destiné aux personnes atteintes du syndrome du côlon irritable médicalement diagnostiqué. Si un médecin n'a pas diagnostiqué vos symptômes gastro-intestinaux, vous ne devez pas suivre ce régime. Il existe de nombreuses conditions médicales avec des symptômes similaires au syndrome du côlon irritable, tels que: B. Maladie cœliaque, maladie inflammatoire de l'intestin, endométriose et cancer du côlon. Vous ne devriez pas vous diagnostiquer du syndrome du côlon irritable. Consultez plutôt un médecin qui évaluera vos symptômes, effectuera les tests nécessaires pour exclure d'autres conditions et vous donnera un diagnostic clair du syndrome du côlon irritable avant de commencer ce régime.

Avantages d'un régime faible en FODMAP

Les chercheurs de l'Université Monash ont développé le concept des FODMAP et ont démontré l'efficacité d'un régime pauvre en FODMAP. Les recherches de Monash montrent que trois personnes sur quatre qui ont un régime pauvre en FODMAP améliorent considérablement les symptômes. D'autres groupes de recherche du monde entier ont depuis montré des résultats similaires. Pour cette raison, un régime pauvre en FODMAP est désormais considéré comme le traitement préféré des personnes diagnostiquées avec le syndrome du côlon irritable.

Il a été démontré qu'un régime pauvre en FODMAP:

  • Réduit la douleur, les crampes et l'inconfort
  • Réduit les ballonnements et les gaz
  • améliorer la digestion (moins de diarrhée ou de constipation)
  • améliorer la qualité de vie

Ces avantages se manifestent généralement dans les 2 à 6 semaines suivant le début du régime pauvre en FODMAP.

Bien sûr, le régime ne guérit pas le syndrome du côlon irritable, il aide seulement les personnes touchées à mieux vivre avec leur maladie.

Un régime pauvre en FODMAP n'améliorera pas non plus les symptômes de TOUT LE MONDE. En fait, une personne sur quatre trouve que suivre un régime n'améliore pas ses symptômes. Ces personnes peuvent avoir besoin d'autres thérapies nutritionnelles en plus ou en remplacement d'un régime pauvre en FODMAP. D'autres thérapies que vous pouvez envisager comprennent la réduction du stress, l'hypnothérapie intestinale, les médicaments en vente libre / sur ordonnance (par exemple, les laxatifs) ou les suppléments de fibres. Discutez avec votre médecin des autres thérapies que vous pouvez essayer.

 

La source:
Le contenu provient de l'Université Monash (https://www.monashfodmap.com/about-fodmap-and-ibs/)